Fun Facts about UEFA EURO 2020

UEFA Euro 2020 is the largest tournament in Europe, where 24 countries are going to battle it out for the ultimate win.

The matches are expected to be held in 12 European cities as a way of marking its 60th birthday since its inaugural.

Here, we are going to highlight the facts you must know before the Euro 2020 commences. Before that, let’s show you the teams to expect at the tournament.

Fun Facts about UEFA EURO 2020

Qualified teams for Euro 2020

Twenty teams have already confirmed, and the remaining four will be known after the play-offs in March 2020.

  • Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
  • Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
  • Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Play-off winner D (A)*
  • Group D: England, Croatia, Play-off winner C, Czech Republic
  • Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Play-off winner B
  • Group F: Play-off winner A (D)*, Portugal, France, Germany

Play-off semi-finals

  • Path A: Iceland v Romania, Bulgaria v Hungary
  • Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina v Northern Ireland, Slovakia v Republic of Ireland
  • Path C: Scotland v Israel, Norway v Serbia
  • Path D: Georgia v Belarus, North Macedonia v Kosovo

Five fun facts about Euro 2020

  1. Portugal were the winners of Euro 2016 when they beat France by 1-0 with an extra-time goal from Eder.
  2. Euro 2020 will feature 24 teams and played in 12 European cities.
  3. The most successful teams are Germany and Spain, with three titles each.
  4. Spain is the only team to win consecutive Euro championship in 2008 and 2012.
  5. VAR (Video Assistant Referee) will be introduced in Euro 2020.


Euro 2020 starts on June 12, 2020, and the final match will be on July 12, 2020. You can buy your tickets early to book your seat, or you can watch the tournament online from the available streaming options such a BBC, ITV, ESPN, and Univision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *