Triple Crown in Monster Energy Supercross

Since the new year is knocking on the door, the new season of AMA Supercross 2021 is scheduled to be started in the January first week of 2021, and fans from every corner of the world are eagerly waiting for this big event. Although there is no live broadcasting available on TV for the international audience, USA viewers will enjoy the Supercross live stream on Fox Sports as usual. However, If you are outside the USA, nothing to be worried about as global fans can watch AMA supercross via a number of streaming apps.

The Monster Energy AMA Supercross of 2021, an FIM World Championship, has reportedly included another race in Indianapolis, and therefore, its schedule has been changed. There will be three races at Lucas Oil Stadium, where the 4th and 5th round will be hosted on 30th January and 2nd February, respectively, as planned. Now the 6th round will be organized on 6th February.

After the 6th round, Glendale’s State Farm Stadium is all set to resume the schedule on 20th February, and on 6th March, Daytona Beach will follow as originally planned. However, the Arlington rounds will now take place at AT&T Stadium on 13th, 16th, and 20th March. Salt Lake City’s Rice-Eccles Stadium is planned to host the season finale game.

One can start booking tickets for the initial six rounds of Indianapolis and Houston from 8th December. However, if you are a preferred customer, you can early sign up and buy tickets from 1st December.

Triple Crown in Supercross

The Triple crown is a very exciting championship that is embedded in the Supercross Championship. The first triple crown was cropped into the Supercross in 2018 and it consists of three races while fans and racers are given ample chance to experience the holeshots. Three races are staged in three locations – Glendale, Las Vegas, and Arlington and the results garnered by riders from the three locations are added together for the winner of the triple crown to emerge.

The triple crown has its own distinct format; here is how the riders qualify for the championship.

Twenty-two riders compete in the triple crown. The 18 fastest riders are selected while additional four riders are selected through the LCQ which is held just before the opening ceremony of the event.

Event Formats:

The 250SX covers one lap and three races within 10 minutes

The 250SX covers one lap and three races within 12 minutes

The triple crown scoring and point system

The organizers use the Olympic system in scoring the riders. Every first place finish attracts 1 point; second place finish attracts 2 points.

At the end, the rider with the lowest point wins the championship. Cooper Webb is the reigning champion having won the 2019 championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *